SC|05 SC|05 Gateway to Discovery
About Interactive Schedule Programs Registration Exhibits Initiatives & Challenges News & Press Hotel & Travel

You currently have 0 events on your schedule.

Schedule: November 12-18th 2005
Entire WeekSaturdaySundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFriday

Component Software for High-Performance Computing: Using the Common Component Architecture

Session: M02: Component Software for High Performance Computing

Event Type: Tutorial

Time: 8:30am - 5:00pm

Speaker(s): Benjamin A. Allan, Robert C. Armstrong, David E. Bernholdt, Randall Bramley, Lori Freitag Diachin, Wael R. Elwasif, Tom Epperly, Madhu Govindaraju, Manojkumar Krishnan, Gary Kumfert, Alan Morris, Boyana Norris, Jaideep Ray, Sameer Shende, Shujia Zhou

Location: 613-614


This tutorial will introduce participants to the Common Component Architecture (CCA) and constitutive technologies, such as Babel (language interoperability). Component-based approaches increase developer productivity by managing the complexity of large-scale applications and facilitating reuse and interoperability of code. Designed specifically for high-performance scientific computing, CCA supports language neutral component-based application development for both parallel and distributed computing without penalizing the underlying performance, and with a minimal effort to adapt existing code into components. The CCA environment is also well suited to the creation of domain-specific application frameworks, in which the rich domain-specific computational infrastructure is cast as components. Through lectures and hands-on exercises, participants will learn about component concepts and the CCA, and create interoperable components in multiple languages using Babel. Participants should bring a computer and an ethernet cable to connect to the tutorial server. The CCA tools and example software will also be available for download.

Introductory: 25% Intermediate: 50% Advanced: 25%

Chair/Speaker Details:

Benjamin A. Allan

Robert C. Armstrong

David E. Bernholdt

Randall Bramley
Indiana University

Lori Freitag Diachin

Wael R. Elwasif

Tom Epperly

Madhu Govindaraju
Binghamton University (SUNY)

Manojkumar Krishnan

Gary Kumfert

Alan Morris
U of Oregon

Boyana Norris

Jaideep Ray

Sameer Shende
U of Oregon

Shujia Zhou
Northrop Grumman/TASC